Monogatari series watch order in 2021!

kizumonogatari part 3 reiketsu

Monogatari is an extensive anime juggernaut, it has been airing since 2009 has over 11 anime seasons a movie trilogy, and 24 novels !. Hence watching the show is a task in itself, only the most cultured weebs know what kind of a masterpiece this series is. Well not every season is the best and most of them are just generic, but that doesn’t take away from the fact that it is a pretty good show.

Watching or reading Monogatari can be daunting at first seeing how many shows there are to cover. You can watch the shows in chronological order or as they were originally released, the latter being the best way and which you should follow. The novels tell the story in chronology. This is the Monogatari series watch order

Bakemonogatari (2009)

Bakemonogatari aired first in 2009 and was the first season/show in the Monogatari series.

Number of episodes – 15

Nisemonogatari (2012)

This show is set after the events of Bakemonogatari take place, one of the men who deceived Hitagi, Kaiki Deishu, returns to town to spread the magic that cursed Nadeko.

Number of episodes – 11

Nekomonogatari Kuro (2012)

Some say it is a prequel to the final Bakemonogatari arc. This is a pretty small season ,worth binge watching.

Number of episodes – 4

Monogatari season 2 (2013)

Monogatari season 2 even though it is set in a supernatural world, has some pretty nice storyline. This season is regarded as one of the best. This is the longest season and is one of the most enjoyable. The season has almost a cult-like following. But don’t watch season 2 right after Bakemonogatari season1, you need to watch the nisomonogatari before you watch this. In fact, just follow this order we have laid down.

Number of episodes – 26

Hanemonogatari (2014)

Hanemonogatari is another short season, which aired in 2014.

Number of episodes – 5

Tsukemonogatari (2014)

The story is set in February, a month before Araragi’s approaching college exam. 

Number of episodes – 4

Owarimonogatari (2015)

Ougi Formula describes how Araragi Koyomi meets Oshino Ougi for the first time. They become trapped in a mysterious classroom that looks identical to Araragi’s classroom two years ago.

Number of episodes – 13

Koyomimonogatari (2016)

This season tells short stories involving Koyomi.

Number of episodes – 12 , each episode is 14 minute long.

Kizu Monogatari movie trilogy (2016-2017)

Kizu monogatari is a movie trilogy:-

kizumonogatari teketsu
kizumonogatari neketsu
kizumonogatari reiketsu

Owarimonogatari season 2 (2017)

Don’t watch Owarimonogatari right after season 1, follow the order. But if you only want to watch OwariMonogatari watch Koyomimonogatari after season 1.

Number of episodes – 7

Zokuowarimonogatari (2019)

This the final chapter in the Monogatari series, and no new show came out from this universe since.

Number of episodes – 6

recommended –

What after this?

Well if you managed to complete all the anime series along with movies, you can always rewatch or read the novels for a change. This is the definitive Monogatari series watch order in 2021. Now new shows are announced yet, but there are rumors floating around

Make sure to bookmark this article, so you can keep up to date with what show to watch next.

Latest anime news – Skate-Leading Stars Anime Rescheduled in 2021 due to Global Pandemic!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here